TEEN DRIVERS EDUCATION
The state required course for ages 15-24. Students will have a fun and hands-on educational experience learning the ways of the road with us. Students are eligible to sign up for our Teen Driver’s Ed class 30 days before their 15th birthday.
- 32-Hours of Classroom Instruction
- 14-Hours of In-Car Instruction (7 driving/7 observing)
- Permit Preparation
- Written Permit Exam
- 10% Insurance Discount
30 hours of Behind-the-Wheel training must be completed with parent or guardian. Click here for an Instruction Guide for the additional hours. (Documentation required by DPS)
Need a Ride? We offer our clientele the option to have an IDS representative to pick you up and/or drop you off for drive-times only (Fees starting at: $5 within 5 miles of the school location. $10 round trip. Please note, we add $1 for every additional mile) Just make arrangements with your local office administrator.
(Not available at LaPorte Location)
⇒ Click Here For Upcoming Classes ⇐
Click on the above link for upcoming classes or call the location nearest you for class dates and times! Limited Space Available!
You can also try teen online course by clicking the link below.
⇒ Click Here For ONLINE TEEN COURSE ⇐
DPS AUTHORIZED 3RD PARTY ROAD TEST
ATTENTION… we offer Third Party Skills Test Exams, all clientele must bring valid permit and all the required paperwork into one of our nearest locations for review prior to scheduling an appointment with our TPST Road Test Examiner.
PLEASE NOTE: Students MUST be at least 16 yrs old and passed there 6-month restriction date to take their Road Test. See List below of required documentation.
- Students Valid Permit (must be held for 6 months if ages 16-17)
- Drivers Ed Completion Certificate (DE-964, PT-964, or ADE13-17)
- IMPACT Certificate for Texas Drivers, The completion date of the IMPACT MUST be after the completion date of the 30-hour log. (https://impacttexasdrivers.dps.texas.gov/)
- Proof of Insurance
- 30-Hour Behind the Wheel Log (DPS Requirement if you took the teen course)
- Parent/Legal Guardian MUST BE PRESENT- No Exceptions!! If you are 18 and completed a parent taught program, your parent must still be present to sign paperwork. They will also have to escort you to the DPS.
- $90 payment, for adults or parent taught programs
- $65 payment, for students who completed our Teen Driver’s Ed Course
- A Current VOE, Verification of Enrollment, will be Required by DPS, THIS FORM IS VALID FOR NO MORE THAN 30 DAYS
- Online Parent-Taught Packets, the following items will also be needed:
- DL-91A: 32-Hour Classroom Log
- DL-91B: 14-Hour Behind the Wheel Instruction Log
(Because we are a third party doing skills testing, we do not offer HARDSHIP LICENSES. This must be done at the DPS)
TEEN BEHIND THE WHEEL LESSONS
Whether you need to brush up on your driving skills or you took a parent taught course and simply need the in-car lessons, we can help you out. You have the option to purchase single lessons. If you need multiple lessons, then look into ordering our package deals. What ever your driving needs, let Island Driving School get you proficient and on the Road Safely!
ADULT 6-HOUR DRIVING EDUCATION
The state of Texas requires that persons 18-24 years of age must take a six hour driver’s ed course before going to DPS for their driver’s license.
This class will provide you with the paperwork you need to receive your driver’s permit. You will then be able to set up a road test at the DPS. You may also schedule a Road Test with our Driving School much faster than with DPS for an additional fee. You must pass the Road Test in order to receive your driver’s license. Please note classes are subject to change due to class enrollment requirements. Call respective school to verify class date.
Texas City : 1st Saturday.
LaPorte : 2nd Saturday
Galveston : 3rd Saturday
Baytown : 4th Saturday
Call the location nearest you for class dates and times.
Just click on the link below and you’ll be on your way!
⇒ Adult 6-Hour Driving Education ⇐
DRIVERS SAFETY AWARENESS (Defensive Driving)
Save money! Save lives! Save your license! Do all the above by simply completing a defensive driving course. Defensive Driving can be taken for ticket dismissal or for insurance discount only.
Waited too long to take care of your ticket and are in need of your certificate right away? Then ask about our Over Night delivery services for an additional fee.
We offer Defensive Driving two ways.
Classes are held from 8 am to 2:30 pm with a 30-minute lunch.
Galveston : 1st Saturday
La Porte : 4th Saturday
Texas City : 3rd Saturday
Baytown : 2nd Saturday
*Class dates and times may be subject to change due to enrollment requirement.
Please take into consideration that certificates may take a minimum of 14 days to receive in the mail.
Click HERE to order your Driving Record
Just click on the link below and you’ll be on your way!
⇒ Online Defensive Driving & Insurance Discount ⇐
LEARN HOW TO DRIVE A STANDARD/MANUAL TRANSMISSION
We can show you the basics on how to drive a stick shift. We will instruct adults and teens. Call or email the nearest Island Driving School location to schedule a lesson.
Lessons are $110.
Purchase a package of 5 lessons for $500.
*Corporate rates are available.
DRIVER COMPETENCY EVALUATION
Participants are evaluated by a TDLR Approved Driving Instructor. During the evaluation, the participant will drive through a series of neighborhoods that encompass various speed limits. The will also be required to make right and left hand turns, exhibit the ability to properly back up and be able to enter and exit freeways. They must also safely change lanes, apply proper braking, use appropriate signals, and head check searching for blind spots.
We offer Continued Education for driving instructors at our location or yours. For more information, click here to send Staffon an email.
For general information contact the location nearest you.
For general contact email email@example.com
Interested in becoming a Driver’s Ed instructor? Register for our Driver’s Ed training program. Interested in teaching In-car only, then you’ll need to take Driver’s Ed I & II. If you would like to teach In-car and Classroom, then you’ll need to take Driver’s Ed I, II, & III. To register you must sign a contract, make a payment, and supply a Driving Record (which you can get from this website, look under Defensive Driving).
Our next schedule class date is: TBA Call the nearest school if you are interested in taking this course.
Prices for this course:
Driver’s Ed I & II -$750
Driver’s Ed III – $450
Driver’s Ed I, II, & III – $1150
For more information call, 409-943-5770.
We also offer an online option to be a Driver Education Instructor. The cost for this course is $900. Becoming certified online is beneficial to those with busy schedules. It allows you to train as fast as you want and in your time. To apply online and get signed up with http://dei.training/, contact the school director.